Past does measure future?

Past is not equals to future

Many times, we as human beings are tempted to use statistics to make or project future performance. This is not only common in the society but even at tertiary institutions as well. This is why we see courses such as economics, sociology, and data analysis software to mention a few that are being studied and developed to improve an understanding of where we are heading towards basing on what we experienced in the past. This should be challenged in some cases despite that this, to some extent, lead to useful outcomes.

This came into my mind after being invited to join the Golden Key International Honours Society which is a prestigious society to be a member of. A brief description of their selection criteria: ONLY top performing graduates i.e. top 15% are selected from participating institution across the globe are invited to join the elite members. This was after graduating with a Cum Laude in Diploma in Entrepreneurship (2012) at Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT), South Africa. As a natural analytically individual, a few thoughts ran into my mind with most pressing one being a reflection of my academic performance in the past. Golden Key is an internationally recognised honour society that is affiliated with universities in Australia, Canada, India, Malaysia, New Zealand, South Africa, the Bahamas and the United States. Each year 15% of the top university students from all disciplines are invited to join the society.

Making projections based on the past information has never worked for me. I have tried to apply this in my life and I have learnt that it does not apply. I will mention a few examples:

1)    Being born in a poor family would mean I would die poor;

2)    Being born in a non Christian family would mean I will die in as a non Christian;

3)    Being born as a below-average-student would mean I will die as a below-average-student.

There are many examples but I will stick only to these three.

I, however, acknowledge that there might be a fierce and lengthy discussion on this but I will ensure that I stick to my above points. Despite the three examples mentioned above, I am certain that I shall not die poor; I am a Christian and I am an above-average-student.

During the course of the year, I was reminded of the innovative skills which I had as primary kid – during my grade 1 in 1992, I took number 71 out of 111 and was tempted to play with numbers with two options (1) to swap numbers and become number 17 or (2) to rub off 1 and become number 7. Rubbing off a 7 was going to be seen as an obvious fowl play by my parents as there was no way I could get number 1 with all red %ages. I am sure I made use of option 1 which seems to justify my performance.

As I was studying for my Btech in Business Administration degree (BBA), there was a point when it seemed to be tough to keep on going as a group as groups needs wisdom to effectively manage. I was tempted to jokingly say ‘I will remove a “B” from BBA and replace it with an “M” to become a holder of an MBA’. This was interesting as it linked to what I once did 21 years back. Unfortunate that it can not be done the ‘primary-kid-style’.

After all this, I came to realise that despite whatever happened in the past, I am not defined in that particular context, I have an undefined outcome to be discovered.

About Lucky Sibanda

He is a holder of Diploma in Entrepreneurship (cum laude) and a Bachelor of Technology in Business Administration at Cape Peninsula University of Technology (2014 June - cum laude) (Cape Town, South Africa, in Africa). He has varied basic experience stretching from engineering, office work, retail and to the provision of tuition gained from the period of 2005 up to date. He is a qualified and registered Assessor (Services SETA) with a scope of 10 qualification (up to NQF Level 4).

Posted on 22/11/2013, in Others and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments for the post here!!!

